Dublin Agreement Parties

The Dublin Agreement is an agreement between European Union member states that aims to determine which country is responsible for processing an asylum seeker`s application. The agreement was first signed in Dublin, Ireland in 1990, hence its name.

There are seven parties to the Dublin Agreement: Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, the Netherlands, Norway, and Switzerland. These countries are all signatories to the agreement and have committed to its terms.

Under the Dublin Agreement, member states have the right to transfer an asylum seeker to another member state if that state is responsible for processing the application. The criteria for determining responsibility include whether the asylum seeker has family members in a particular country, has previously applied for asylum in a particular country, or has entered the European Union through a particular country.

The Dublin Agreement has been subject to criticism from human rights organizations, who argue that it places too much burden on countries at the edges of the EU, such as Greece and Italy, to process asylum applications. Additionally, some have criticized the agreement for allowing member states to avoid responsibility for processing asylum applications if they can transfer the applicant to another country under the agreement.

Despite these criticisms, the Dublin Agreement remains an important tool for managing asylum applications within the European Union. The parties to the agreement continue to work together to ensure that asylum seekers receive fair and appropriate treatment, while also ensuring that the burden of processing applications is shared fairly among member states.